top of page
Search
  • oliviapeacock22

Introducing: Anna Rowe

Updated: Jan 11, 2021


After doing some research surrouding the legislation about Catfishing in the UK, I came accross Anna Rowe's profile. I reached out to her and explained to her what I was trying to create for my Multimedia Journalism project and she replied back almost immediately. As my first interview that I conducted, Anna really helped me to decide what direction I wanted to go in with the documentary that I was creating, and she was the one who gave me the idea to interview a Psychology professor, as I really wanted to understand the reasoning behind it.


Anna Rowe is a teacher from Kent, England and she was a victim of being Catfished- the act of being deceived by someone else online. Anna matched with 'Anthony' on Tinder, a dating website, and entered a 14 month relationship with a man who was not who he said he was.

Anna has since campaigned for the current laws surrounding Catfishing to be changed, and has set up a petition to support this.


Here, Anna tells her story:



There is very limited support in place for those who have been a victim of Catfishing, and the laws are a very 'grey area' surrounding what can be prosecuted and what can not.

The UK are currently considering a proposal to follow New South Wales legislation that makes sex by deception illegal, but it is yet to come into place.


In America, there is a programme called Catfish that deals with extreme versions of these cases happening, and there is a version coming to the UK. Anna is the first interview that is on the UK version of Catfish, and I think I was very lucky to conducted an interview with such a high profile and relevant candidate.













13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page